Search
The Reflector Orange High School Orange, CA
Issue Date: Monday, May 17, 2010 Issue: 7 Last Update: Monday, May 17, 2010
Current Conditions Partly Cloudy
Temperature: 64.3 °F
Wind Speed: 5 mph WNW
Gusts: 12 mph WSW
Rain Today: 0 "

At-a-glance

- creativecommons
Advertising
     Live Oak High School in northern California sent five students wearing the American flag home on May 5th, known to North Americans as Cinco de Mayo.  They were told that “[it was] sensitive to Mexican-Americans because it's supposed to be their holiday so we were not allowed to wear it" said Daniel Galli, one of the students sent home.
     The five students were sitting outside of the school when Assistant Principal Miguel Rodriguez asked the boys to remove their bandannas and to come to the principal’s office.  There the boys were given the choices to either turn their shirts inside out or leave the school.  The students told the AP and Principal Nick Boden that the former was disrespectful and were later escorted home by their parents.
     However plenty of other students were spotted wearing the Mexican flag.  Their flags were taken away or asked to be put away, but no one else was sent home or taken to the principal’s office.
     California Education Code 48950 prohibits schools from enforcing a rule subjecting a high school student to disciplinary sanctions solely on the basis of conduct, that when engaged outside of campus, is protected by the First Amendment.  The incident is currently under investigation mainly because the school has not provided enough evidence that the boys’ clothing were disruptive of school premises. 
     The incident has been called a violation of the students’ right to freedom of speech.  The school has no uniform and the students were sent home for wearing the American flag.

Back to the articles list

0 COMMENTS - Add your comment below

ADD YOUR COMMENT
Name
Email
Comments, recommendations or suggestions.
Submit

Staff View

Laurie Wielenga

Advisor
Email Me

Online Archives

There are currently 24 editions on-line. Click on edition name to view articles.

  • Mon, May 10, 2010 6
  • Mon, May 03, 2010 5
  • Mon, Apr 26, 2010 4
  • Mon, Apr 19, 2010 3
  • Fri, Mar 26, 2010 2
  • Fri, Feb 19, 2010 I
  • Thu, May 28, 2009 XVIII
  • Tue, Mar 31, 2009 XVII
  • Sun, Mar 01, 2009 XVI
  • Tue, Feb 17, 2009 XV
  • Sun, Feb 08, 2009 XIV
  • Tue, Jan 13, 2009 XII
  • Fri, Jan 02, 2009 XIII
  • Tue, Dec 09, 2008 XI
  • Fri, Nov 14, 2008 X
  • Mon, Nov 10, 2008 IX
  • Fri, Oct 31, 2008 VIII
  • Wed, Oct 22, 2008 VII
  • Mon, Oct 20, 2008 VI
  • Mon, Oct 13, 2008 V
  • Mon, Oct 06, 2008 IV
  • Mon, Sep 29, 2008 III
  • Mon, Sep 22, 2008 II
  • Fri, Sep 12, 2008 I
Advertising